top of page


Alexander Nicholls is an award-winning cellist and musicologist specializing in the performance and study of eighteenth-century music. He holds degrees in music performance from the Juilliard School (USA) and The University of Western Australia, as well as a music studies degree (Honours Class I) from The University of Sydney (AUS). Gaining momentum from orchestral experiences and studying with various international artists across three continents, Alexander regularly appears in concerts and recordings with ensembles and orchestras worldwide. Currently, Alexander is undertaking his doctoral studies at the Universität für Musik und Darstellende Kunst Wien (AT) under the supervision of Dr. Clive Brown, where he focuses on the cello performing practices of King Friedrich Wilhelm II (1744–1797). He is passionate about the recovery of neglected eighteenth-century music through various mediums and the application of historically informed approaches to musicology. 

Academic Degrees
  • Master of Music, Baroque Violoncello – 2016 – The Juilliard School New York, United States of America

  • Bachelor of Music Studies (Honours Class I), Musicology – 2013 – Sydney Conservatorium of Music – Sydney, Australia

  • Bachelor of Music Performance, Violoncello – 2012 – The University of Western Australia – Perth, Australia

Alexander Nicholls.jpg
Recordings & Publications
  • Johann Gottlieb Janitsch: Janitsch Church Sonatas, Berlin Friday Academy, Brilliant Classics, Berlin 2022 

  • Kowar, Helmut: Kleemeyer 170. Dittersdorf, Haydn, Martín y Soler und Pleyel auf den zwölf Walzen der Flötenuhr Nr. 170 von Christian Ernst Kleemeyer, Berlin. Göttingen 2022 Cuvillier [Forthcoming]

  • Johann Gottlieb Janitsch: Janitsch Trio Sonatas, Berlin Friday Academy, Brilliant Classics, Berlin 2020 

  • Christoph Graupner: Antiochus und Stratonica, Boston Early Music Festival Orchestra, CPO, Bremen 2019

  • Georg Friedrich Handel: Almira, Boston Early Music Festival Orchestra, CPO, Bremen 2018

  • Samuel Scheidt: Cantiones Sacrae Motetten, Athesinus Consort, Carus, Berlin 2018

bottom of page